The Twelve Signs of the Zodiac (first version)details

[Picture: The Twelve Signs of the Zodiac (first version)]
previous image

Image title:

The Twelve Signs of the Zodiac (first version)

Taken from

Similar images:




Out of copyright (called public domain in the USA), hence royalty-free stock image for all purposes usage credit requested
Please do not redistribute without permission, since running this site is expensive.


This image is taken from a table in the book; the images are repeated at the head and foot, and in fact differ very slightly in each place. I do not know whether they are made from type or, as seems more likely, the whole page is an engraving. I scanned the table heading at 3200 pixels per inch, so that the resulting images are large. I also made separate images for the individual icons: Aries (the ram)
Taurus (the bull)
Gemini (the twins)
Cancer (the crab)
Leo (the lion)
Virgo (the virgin)
Libra (the scales)
Scorpio (the scorpion)
Sagittarius (the archer, or centaur)
Capricorn (the goat)
Aquarius (the water-carrier)
Pisces (the fish, or fishes)

There is also another slightly different version of the twelve zodiac pictures.


111 x 10mm (4.4 x 0.4 inches)

Place shown:



Stock image:

Buy from:

Scanner dpi:





You can get a version of this image without the watermark (the URL at the lower right corner). Download image. The images are watermarked to help people find where they came from if they get reposted to blogs or other sites. Images under 1200 pixels on a side are still free, although I will ask for a donation :-)